Motivation Monday

.

DIY MENTORING

For me, one of the few drawbacks of working as an independent designer is less exposure to mentors. I used to worry over this fact until I started a new habit that helps kick me into gear when I’m feeling less inspired.

Every Monday, while having my coffee and zipping through the news feeds, I also check in with one of my heroes. I’ve got many idols on the go-to list – both local and international, from public persona to personal friend. I’ve found that even random glances at something they’ve put out there can clear my thinking and reset my intentions for the week.

I hope these entries have a positive impact on you as well.


03.22.10

This Monday, I selected the amazing and accomplished Debbie Millman, president of the design division at Sterling Brands (and oh, so much more!).

So, I hit the overloaded reading shelf and quickly thumbed through a very dog-eared copy of her latest book, Look Both Ways. Aside from being visually beguiling, I found the book to be a heartfelt and intimate journal of a truly great leader, thinker, writer, and speaker in the branding arena.

There are so many passages that get me misty, ringing true to my hopes, passions and fears of being an independent creative agent in this modern world. But this one especially sticks me square in the heart, and reminds me why I do what I do – why I continually strive to improve my offering and champion the craft of design:

“Start with a big, fat lump in your throat, start with a profound sense of wrong, a deep homesickness, or a crazy love sickness, and run with it. If you imagine less, less will be what you undoubtedly deserve. Do what you love, and don’t stop until you get what you love. Work as hard as you can, imagine immensities, don’t compromise, and don’t waste time. Start now.”

– Debbie Millman, Look Both Ways

Read more from Debbie, or seek out and study the advice of your own heroes. Never stop learning.

Do what you love. Do work that matters. Imagine immensities.

It is never too late to start now.

.

Comments are closed.